Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Deductible items from Seller's Final Settlement Statement

Hopefully these are my last questions... I sold a house last year, that I had been renting out for several years.

I never lived in this house. 
I am using TurboTax Premium Desktop for Windows.

I am trying to determine which items from the Seller's Final Settlement Statement (which I got from the title company) are deductible from the Sales Price??  Based on a post that @Carl made in July 4, 2019, it looks like, at a minimum, the Commissions, title insurance, escrow fees, transfer taxes, maybe a couple of others...
What about the $30,000 that the broker spent in Home Prep for sale??  Do those count as Ad Expenses??

Second, where do these expenses actually get listed?? 
I was going to list them in Asset Sales Expenses on the Sales Info page.
However, @Carl in his post, said this:
"No. it [the deductible expenses] is not deducted from the sales price. It's added to your cost basis."
So where *is* the cost basis entered?  The only place that I see a Cost field is in the Review Info dialog, and that *does* have the expected cost basis value, but it doesn't have a label that could confirm this.  Sadly, searching in TTP for 'cost basis' turns up nothing useful.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
Carl
Level 15

Did you receive an actual HUD-1 Settlement Statement at the closing? If yes, confirm it's the same version as the one at https://www.hud.gov/sites/documents/1.PDF

The "OMB Approval No." is in the top right corner. Does it match? If not, then what approval number do you have?