turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

engzeus

Are RSU's part of Hawaiis High Tech Stock Option Income and tax credit exempt?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

engzeus,

I'm not a tax lawyer.  But looking at the actual text of Hawaii law 235-9.5 which states:

"§235-9.5 Stock options from qualified high technology businesses excluded from taxation.  (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, all income earned and proceeds derived from stock options or stock, including stock issued through the exercise of stock options or warrants, from a qualified high technology business or from a holding company of a qualified high technology business by an employee, officer, or director of the qualified high technology business, or investor who qualifies for the credit under section 235-110.9, that would otherwise be taxed as ordinary income or as capital gains to those persons shall be excluded from taxation under this chapter."

I would deem the sale of vested RSU shares, which is stock, to be covered by this exemption.  Whether any dividends paid while the shares were still restricted is less clear but RSU shares are stock, however restricted at the time, so I would again deem those dividends exempt.

For a 2021 list of qualified high technology businesses, I refer you to Appendix A of https://files.hawaii.gov/dbedt/economic/data_reports/HawaiiResearchTaxCredit_TaxYear2021.pdf .  I haven't tracked down a 2022 list.

Hopefully someone that has more experience with Hawaii tax will be able to chime in.

I have a few thoughts on this:

• I believe the business needs to qualify first before any benefit would be available at the individual level.