Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Imanidiot

accidental deletions of data

Dear TurboTax, 

Please fix your program so that it is impossible to delete something unintentionally.   A second dialog box should pop up and ask you if you really want to delete things.  I've been using this for 20 years and I made a fatal mistake on one of my rentals and lost the depreciation carryovers .  I'm going to try to my best to manually fix it from here on out by manually entering the same number for depreciation that I have had for the last 3 years but am afraid that is not going to help me.  I don't understand how you can simply delete a property without saying how you got rid of it  ie. sale, gift, catastrophe, etc.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
RobertB4444
Expert Alumni

If it is a lot of work to recreate then the easiest solution is to delete your whole tax return and start over.  I'm not saying that's fun or anything, but the depreciation data will roll back over and be there when you start.  

Good luck.

@Imanidiot 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Imanidiot