Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

knpegasus
Returning Member

First year as sole owner S-Corp - Just starting taxes - Haven't Filed 1220s, K1's, Paid Myself a salary - Made Income

Before I begin, I know I shouldn't have waited to start my taxes now, especially when I had no idea what I was doing when I made an S-Corp.

I made an S Corp in December which I choose to have taxes filed on that year too (2018). I was a freelancer before.

Initially, I received a 1099 MISC under my personal, but I asked that they change it to my newly formed S-Corp (though the work was done before my S-corp actually was formed and I was paid well before that).

Now, there are 2 days until taxes are due. I haven't done anything for my S-Corp asides from forming it and filing the 2553 in January. I should have been more careful and on top of this, and today I feel hopeless, though I will try to minimize the damage. No putting myself on the payroll, K1, S-Corp taxes (I learned all that after I realized how screwed I was - or am I?)

Essentially, the company I did work for paid my S Corp (I regret asking them to change it) which now my S-Corp does not pay payroll. I don't even know what to do anymore. Am I even screwed? Are there extensions or anything? At this point, I just want to minimize the penalties - I wish I didn't start on a weekend. I haven't paid any dividends or done anything with the S-corp (does issue the stock when forming count as a dividend?).... all the work I did for the company was even before the formation... I just want to dissolve it.

I know that I am in a hole but I will climb out - dedicating all my time to alleviate my ignorance & arrogance - I wish I can speak to a professional but it's the weekend. I will get through this, though.

Thank you, everyone. All help is deeply appreciated.