Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Suspending depreciation

I live as an owner in an owner-occupied 3-family house. In general, 60% of collective expenses are deducted, but some are deducted at a different rate based on facts. Some capital expenditures are exclusive to one of the apartments, and they are depreciated at 100% straight-line over the usual 27.5 yr life. We are considering temporarily (for a few years, roughly) converting one of the apartments into adjuncts of our living unit. Using TurboTax (which I have been using for about 30 years), how do I suspend (in some cases) or re-calculate (in other cases) the depreciation going forward (tax years 2024 onward)? The new collective deduction for such expenses will become 30%. I have a pretty good handle on expenses, but no clue on how to deal with depreciation.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
KimberW
Employee Tax Expert

Suspending depreciation

Rather than thinking about it as a suspension of depreciation for a period of time, think of each change in use as a "conversion" from one type of use to another.

The first change -- converting part of the rental property to personal use -- would be considered a disposition of that portion of the property. A disposition of business property usually results in recognition of gains and deprecation recapture. But, when the disposition is because of conversion to personal use, the regulations say that gains, losses, and depreciation recapture are essentially suspended until the property is eventually sold. See 26 CFR 1.168(i)-4(c)