Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Purchase of business franchise

I purchased a franchise last month for 25k and started an LLC. Are there any good articles or services TurboTax offers that can help be set off on the right track? I am a first time business owner and want to make sure I am navigating the tax world efficiently.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
CatherineR
Employee Tax Expert

Congratulations on becoming a new business owner!

First item to discuss is the LLC. If it was set up as a single member/owner LLC (SMLLC) then it is disregarded for additional partnership tax reporting which means no additional tax return is required like a partnership return form 1065.  The income and expenses of the business will be reported as a schedule C on your personal 1040 tax return.  

If an LLC is owned by multiple members or by a husband and wife in a non-community property state the LLC should file as a partnership. However, in community property states you can have your multi-member (husband and wife owners) and that LLC can get treated as a SMLLC for tax purposes.

Once you have the reporting requirements figured out you are ready to review income and expense rules for the business.  The IRS has a great resource for business owners that discusses all the tax aspects.  It can be found here:

IRS small business owner tax center 

Also you may want to review the rules regarding start up expenses found here on the Turbo Tax link:

Turbo tax start up costs