Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

smduran22
Returning Member

New business starting in 2025 and self employment tax

As far as self employment goes, my sales will be collected through Square. After deducting my monthly expenses from sales per month. I would determine how much of self employment tax to be sent directly to IRS? I'm new to this so I am trying to seek advice on what would happen if SE tax is not sent quarterly. Does that get taxed when filing during tax season?

I'm trying to gather all information needed before starting a business. Making sure I know what needs to be allocated to self employment tax.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Lucia-B-EA
Employee Tax Expert

New business starting in 2025 and self employment tax

When starting a new business there are two steps which will determine how you will pay self employment tax.

1. What kind of business entity will I have?
  2. How will I file my taxes?

Let's look at each independently - 

TYPE OF BUSINESS ENTITY - Your company can be one of 4 types - Sole Proprietor, Single Member LLC,  Partnership or S-Corp.  Since you did not mention a "partner" we will presume you are a single person and will not talk about partnerships here.

• Sole Proprietor - This is your basic company.  You own it, it does or does not require a business license to operate, but you do not intend to have a state legal license for liability protection. This kind of compnay operates on a CASH basis, usually.