Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Michigan PTET

I work as a W-2 employee and I pay around 20,000 a year in state taxes and an additional $10,000 a year in property taxes. I also have a side gig that pays around 10–$15,000 a year via 1099 income. I currently file my 1099 income as a sole proprietor.

I am trying to take advantage of Michigan's PTET tax law that allows for a state and local deductions to be paid through certain pass-through entities. Based on Michigan law, if I form an LLC with my wife is a partner, I will be allowed to take advantage of this law.

1-would someone like me with both the W-2 income and 1099 side income be able to take advantage of this? 

2-what are the specific logistics involved with initiating this? Do i have to pay taxes throughout the year to a separate account to get this deduction?

3-Is the max amount of tax deducted of state and local taxes based on my 1099 income? ie if I make 10K of 1099 income, can I only deduct 10K from federal taxes?

thanks

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
LindaSh
Employee Tax Expert

Michigan PTET

You are able to take advantage of Michigan Flow-through Tax if your business (side gig) is structured as an LLC with 2 or more members, partnership, or an S-Corp.  Your W-2 wages do not affect this.   You can have multiple W-2s and businesses.

As a side note, an LLC is automatically considered a partnership unless you elect to have it treated as an S-Corp.  An LLCs with only 2 - 100 members can elected to be treated as an S-Corp.