Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

bethkaf1

LLC vs SCorp

I have been filing as a single member LLC since 2011 when I started my business. I just found out I am an S-Corp but I want to remain an LLC.  When I called the IRS they said they could only advise I file forms 941 and 940. They also said something about SS4-8832. Now what?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies

LLC vs SCorp

How did you not know that you were an S corporation? 

Generally, you would have had to file a Form 2553 to make an election to be taxed as an S corporation.

If you are an S corporation, see the IRS link below. 

https://www.irs.gov/forms-pubs/revoking-a-subchapter-s-election

LLC vs SCorp

LLCs are State Organizations. 

An S-Corp is a IRS Tax Designation. 

Your LLC organization type does not change based on your Tax Designation. 

You can be a sole proprietor, a partnership or an S-Corp with an LLC. 

As a single member LLC, I believe you are taxed as a Sole proprietor unless you make the S-Corp election as stated by the other member.  You have a window to make that election.  FYI...I am not a tax accountant. 

LLC vs SCorp

at the time of formation it would be a single member LLC taxed as a disregarded entity. at that time you would file form 8832 toe elect to have the entity taxed as a corporation and form 2553 to elect to have the corporation taxed as an s-corp.

LLC vs SCorp

You only have to file one or the other; 8832 for a C corporation or 2553 for an S corporation (no need to file an 8832 and a 2553).

LLC vs SCorp

Without more facts, we can only tell you to see an experienced tax professional.