Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

LLC/S Corp tax benefits for physician

I have an LLC with S corp tax provisions. I am a physician who covers a small hospital for a few days a month as my business. My wife is half owner and does book keeping and payroll and gets paid a salary.

Currently I keep track of receipts while I’m out here so that I can write off my meals and coffee during work days. If I buy scrubs I keep those receipts. I also utilize home office deduction.

Is it complicated to sign up for a medical conference as a business expense? I would hope my wife as part owner could join as well. Would I just keep these receipts and include expenses (flight, hotel, rental car, food) as part of my business expenses when doing my taxes?

How would getting a car for my business work? I will soon by starting another side gig as a physician which may have me working 7-10 days a month so I will be driving a lot more. 

Anything else I could be looking into to lower my taxable income or produce tax benefits?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Lucia-B-EA
Employee Tax Expert

Being an S-Corp is the first step in lowering your tax burden.  Making sure both you and your wife are on the Corporate payroll is the second step and VERY important.  Not only is this a requirement of the IRS, as all Officer/Owners are to be paid a reasonable salary by payroll through the Corporation, but this will also save money because you will be paying FICA taxes through payroll withholding for both of you, rather than 15.3% self-employment tax as a partnership.  Great Planning!