Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How does deduction work for quarterly tax as an indivisual contractor?

I started to work as an individual contractor on July 1st, and I'm preparing for my first quarterly tax estimate.  I assume I will pay the quarterly tax before Sept 16. I am confused by the order of calculating deductions. So if I use the following example:

income for this quarter: $10,000

Part One: Self Employed Tax

Self-employment tax: 15.3%, apply to 92.35% of total income, which is $1412.96. No question. 

Part Two: Federal Income Tax

1. Deduct half of the SE tax ($706.48). No question.

2. Standard deduction: How doe it apply to quarterly tax? (It is for the whole year?)

3. QBI: Do I qualify for QBI if I'm an individual contractor?

4. If I work in my home office, does the house rental count as business expense?

5. federal tax: What bracket should I use for this since I cannot estimate the total income for the entire year yet?

Thanks in advance!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DashonnonH
Employee Tax Expert

Hi SimonJ9, I want to ensure you are applying the 15.3% to the correct amount of income. 

Self-employment tax: 15.3%, apply to 92.35% of total income, which is $1412.96. No question.

This formula is applied to Net income. After you have deducted expenses paid for your business.

1. Deduct half of the SE tax ($706.48). No question. (Correct, as long as $1412.96 is the Self-employment tax owed)

2. Standard deduction: How doe it apply to quarterly tax? (It is for the whole year?)

Estimated payments are made to cover 2 different taxes; Income taxes and Self-employment taxes