Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Federal Asset Report - Depreciated Assets

This is my first year using TT. Last years tax returns federal asset report lists 23 depreciated assets where all but one show a current value of zero. Do I need to list in TurboTax all 23 of these assets that appear to me to be fully depreciated at this point? This business is 22 years old, it seems like this asset list is... out of date? I'm starting my tax prep fresh with TT, do I need to carry these old depreciated items with me? 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
AbbyS
Employee Tax Expert

Yes, you should carry the old assets into your current return.  I assume these assets were simply retired (not sold) since they are many years old.  If that’s the case, simply mark the assets as “retired or disposed” so that they will be removed from your asset list in future years, and put the sale price as $0.  The option to mark the asset as “retired or disposed” will come up as a check box when inputting your assets into TurboTax.  Doing this, will show that the asset was simply disposed without being sold, instead of just disappearing from your asset list from one year to the next without explanation of whether the asset was sold at a gain, and you can continue with a clean asset list moving forward.