Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Community Property Adjustments

I am an RDP in California, so needing to file as single for federal taxes but jointly in CA, which is a community property state. This is my first year in this situation and have a few questions.

• How do we handle the community income adjustment? We are considering everything community property to keep it simple (rather than specifying anything as separate property). It seems like we each enter the information for our personal taxes according to our documents, and then when we get to the community property income adjustment question we say yes? How do we calculate the number? It is just adding the totals between the 2 of us, and then dividing by 2 and seeing what the difference is?
  • We weren't sure where the taxes withheld number got pulled from in the Turbo Tax system on form 8958 since it didn't match what is on our W2s.
  • Is it required to do a tax withholding adjustment as well or can we keep it the same? (I am wondering if it is a must for us to send via mail or if we can still e-file somehow.
  • Lastly, we've both walked through everything in TurboTax online but it won't let us get past the review without downloading desktop. i'm wondering if we can still decide to go with online to take advantage of the MetLife benefit we have with TurboTax? Then my partner would pay for his online?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
ThomasM125
Expert Alumni

Community Property Adjustments