turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

jxjxjx
Returning Member

What do I put for "State of Residence" if I am a graduate student in another state, making money in that state?

I am a PhD student in Georgia, making money from my institution but I am originally from California. I frequently make trips during the breaks back to California, but for most of the year ~ 8/12 months, I am in Georgia. Specifically, I was in California from June to August and in Georgia otherwise. Turbotax doesn't seem to allow multiple time segments... 

What is my residence status for both states and how do I input this into TurboTax?

My understanding (and intention) is that I am a full resident of California and part-year resident of Georgia, but the interface is confusing me:

The Personal Info section asks for my "State of Residence." Should I put Georgia or California? I initially put Georgia since that is where I am mostly and it allows me to further state "lived in another state in 2023: [California.]" But I am afraid this implies I am no longer a resident of California when I still intend to be full resident there. Specifically it prompts me afterwards to write the "Date I became a resident of new state [Georgia]".  Same for the reverse when I put  California as my initial state of residence and Georgia as my previous state of residence: it almost implies I lost my part-year residence in Georgia.

I am unsure how to proceed. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
maglib
Level 11

What do I put for "State of Residence" if I am a graduate student in another state, making money in that state?

@jxjxjx   

You’re a resident of CA if either apply: