Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

University has been consistently mis-reporting 1098-T Box 1? (Tuition billing date vs. paid date?)

Hello, I graduated college last year in Spring 2022. For all four years of college I got a full-ride scholarship that covered tuition/fees as well as room/board, etc. So this latter part of my scholarship was taxable income.

For simple math, let's say educational expenses were always around 5000 a semester and the taxable portion was around 5000 a semester. So, my for a full year I would have 10,000 paid to the university in payments for tuition and fees, and 20,000 in scholarships (10k of which went directly to me as taxable income).

In 2018, freshman year, I did not file taxes as I had no other income and my scholarship income for one semester fell under the standard deduction -- I didn't bother checking the 1098-T back then. I started filing taxes from tax year 2019 when I started earning other W2 income and my scholarship income grew above the standard deduction. The 1098-T amounts for 2019, 2020, and 2021 all lined up with the expected 10k in box 1 and 20k in box 5.

Come now when I am filing for 2022, expecting the halved amounts to account for just one semester (so 5k in box 1 and 10k in box 5). Instead I see there is zero in box 1 and 10k in box 5. The payments from my scholarship are always made in the same calendar year as the semester. They are billed on the student portal in December of the earlier year, but actually *paid* by my scholarship and credited to my account in January. So I feel like for "qualified educational expenses paid in 2022..." I should be using the date when it is paid from my account, not billed. Is this correct?