Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

anonymous761
Returning Member

U.S. citizen studying abroad as international grad student. How should I report my grants/scholarships vs. tuition as foreign income?

Hello. I graduated my US undergrad institution in 2020, and transitioned to virtually attending a grad school in Canada for the remainder of 2020 (meaning that I lived in the US for the full year). I have two tax documents from my Canadian institution, a T4A (reporting scholarships/grants), and a T2202 (reporting tuition). However, I was never actually paid any money because I did not have a Canadian bank account until I moved to Canada in 2021 (although there was an option for me to have them write an international check, which I did not do). How should I report this on my taxes as foreign income? Do I report just the scholarships and grants, or do I take the difference between the two (since I never actually saw the money that went into tuition)? Do I have to report it at all? Further, how should I convert the CAD to USD? Do I just take the conversion rate from a quick google search?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

U.S. citizen studying abroad as international grad student. How should I report my grants/scholarships vs. tuition as foreign income?

Report only the difference between the  T4A (scholarships/grants), and the T2202 (tuition) as income. That amount can be further reduced by cost of "course materials".  Yes, a googled conversion rate is close enough. 

In TurboTax, enter the scholarship  in the educational expenses section, not the income section. This is necessary to get it on the right line of form 1040 (line 1 with the notation SCH).