Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a graduate nursing student required to complete 300 clinical hours and have to drive to various facilities, are the miles deductable?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I am a graduate nursing student required to complete 300 clinical hours and have to drive to various facilities, are the miles deductable?

If so, where can I put them? I did not see a place to add them.
Carl
Level 15

yes they are with two exceptions.

- Miles from your primary residence to your "principle" place of employment or school are not deductible.
 - Miles from your principle place of employment or school back to your primary residence are not deductible.

So, miles from my primary residence to clinical site and back are deductible, correct?  I am required by the university to visit these sites as part of my degree. But it is not at my school.  Where do I enter these miles?  or is there a formula to use when entering school related expenses?
Carl
Level 15

First, you are getting paid for this clinical work, right? IF so, is that income reported to you on a W-2, or something else?
dazedg

Did you find an answer to this ? How did you calculate it?

Hal_Al
Level 15

@dazedg 

Despite the 2019 date on this post, the previous discussion is about the rules before 2018.

W-2 employees can no longer deduct job expenses, including mileage.  If you are classified as self employed (your pay is reported to you on a 1099-NEC), you may only deduct the mileage between jobs during a day. 

If you only work one place, each day, then getting to and from work is not deductible. 

dazedg