turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

yoonh
Returning Member

Tuition remission taxes

Hi!

I'm currently in grad school using my employer's tuition remission program.

My grad program is reled to my job (improve my job skills). so my coworkers who are in same job position and grad program are exempted to pay taxes even if exceeds $5250.

I realized that when I submitted the application for the tuition remission program, I answered the one question wrong, which made my tuition considered as taxable income by my employer.

(answered "yes" to it could qualify me for a new trade or business - which is not!! I'm a nurse and doing nursing master's program. misunderstood the question..)

I contacted HR and they said once the application is processed, they cannot fix it. I've been paying lots of taxes for and I shouldn't be. Is there anyway to get this taxes refunded when I file the tax return next year? I saw some posts saying I have to contact my employer and get the corrected W-2 form but at this point I feel like they won't do that. I tried to fix this before this year but They just kept saying I've been already paying for this. 

I did free online tax consult and they told me that I have to file amended tax return. I know I answred it wrong but there should be a way to fix this and kinda unfair for me to pay all the taxes (almost 10k this year). if i appeal to IRS it shouldn't be taxed... is this possible?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Tuition remission taxes

Q.  Is there anyway to get this taxes refunded when I file the tax return next year?