Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

amgross00

If I am a full time student and my parents provided 50% of my support but didn't claim me as a dependent, am I eligible for the American Opportunity Credit?

The turbo tax question says "can you be claimed as a dependent on someone else's return.  I answered yes because I can be claimed. Should I have answered no, since I wasn't claimed?  It looks like this needs to be answered no in order to get the AOC?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
KrisD15
Expert Alumni

If I am a full time student and my parents provided 50% of my support but didn't claim me as a dependent, am I eligible for the American Opportunity Credit?

The program will ask two questions. 

"Can someone claim you?"

"Will someone claim you?"

You would answer Yes to Can and No to Will. 

The American Opportunity Tax Credit for a dependent student not claimed is only the non-refundable portion. It can reduce your tax liability but is not refunded for any remaining credit after that. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q. If I am a full time student and my parents provided 50% of my support but didn't claim me as a dependent, am I eligible for the American Opportunity Credit (AOC)?

A. Simple answer: No. But, maybe. See below*. 

Q. The turbo tax question says "can you be claimed as a dependent on someone else's return.  I answered yes because I can be claimed. Should I have answered no, since I wasn't claimed?