Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

drr1904
Returning Member

I am a full-time college student under the age of 24. I am not sure if I can claim myself on my taxes.

Info about ME: 

- I am a 20 year old full-time college student. 

- I receive a full tuition scholarship, a Pell Grant, and another institutional scholarship. A rough estimate of my yearly refund is a little over $8000 (this is my refund AFTER tuition is accounted for). 

- I also have two part-time jobs. The money earned from my jobs is more or less equivalent to the amount of my refund. My earned income ranges from around 6000-9000 per year, depending on my hours at work, etc. 

- Considering my day-to-day expenses, my part-time jobs cover around 75% of them. However, my financial aid provides a considerable safety net -- I always have over a thousand in my savings account as a result of my financial aid reimbursement. 

Info about my PARENTS: 

- My parents are divorced and have been since I was 5. 

- My mother was my custodial parent. She has always claimed me on her taxes, and I lived with her solely from ages 5-18. 

- My mother files her information for my FAFSA. 

- HOWEVER, my mother does NOT provide ANY of my financial support, and has not since I graduated and moved out 2 years ago. 

- My father pays for nearly half of my living expenses. This includes my phone bill, car payment, and car insurance specifically, and occasionally a cash gift. 

- I pay for my rent, utilities, gas, clothing, food, recreational expenses, out-of-pocket healthcare expenses, etc. So basically, everything except for what my dad pays. This is usually more than what my dad provides, though it does depend on the month and how much I spend.