Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the W-4! >> Event happening TOMORROW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Graduate Student paid through 1098-T, issues with turbo tax reporting too much income and Roth IRA giving a penalty

I am a graduate student who is paid through a 1098-T. My 1098-T reports the my tuition which is paid for by my department in box 1 (lets say 40K). In box 5, my tuition + my stipend is listed as scholarship (say 80K). Turbotax is reporting this value in box 5 as income, saying my total income is 80K. It should be subtracting my qualified education expenses of 40k in box 1. 

It is also not counting this excess value as income for the purposes of contributing to my Roth IRA. This is supposed to be allowed because of the Graduate Student Savings Act. 

Any help remedying these would be greatly appreciated. I believe other softwares allow for this, but I would like to avoid changing if possible. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Graduate Student paid through 1098-T, issues with turbo tax reporting too much income and Roth IRA giving a penalty

TurboTax is aware of the Roth IRA glitch and is working on it. 

Be sure you have  checked the grad school box at the 1098-T screen. Starting in 2022, taxable scholarship goes on line 8r of Schedule 1, instead of  line 1 of form 1040.

As to the duplication of the $40K income, it may only be necessary to check you entries.  I'm not aware of a glitch. 

I am having the same issue with the Roth IRA. It worked for 2021. When chatting with TurboTax, I was told this was an IT issue that would be resolved by the end of January, but it still has not been.

MichaelG81