Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Grad Student: Tuition Split between 2018 and 2019 1098-T. Box 2 not filled out last year, now return is being reduced by $1.6K

Hi! So I am a current graduate student on a full-tuition scholarship (with no additional scholarship or stiped). Last year I filed my taxes and put in my 1098-T form, where my tuition paid was shown as higher than the scholarship I received (but I didn't think anything of it because honestly I was swamped with school and didn't fully pay attention). Box 7 (showing that some of box 1 was for Jan-March of 2019) was checked but Box 2 was empty. This year, when I went to file my taxes, it is now showing that my scholarship received is roughly ~13K higher than the tuition I've paid. When I did some digging, half of my spring 2019 tuition was put on last year's form (with box 7 checked but box 2 empty) and a half was put on this year's form. Now my refund is being reduced by ~$1.6K, which I assume is because it appears I'm receiving nearly ~13k in stipend money (I wish!). I've read that you technically don't need to report the 1098 form, but I don't want any trouble down the line. How can I fix this? I don't want to pay taxes on money that I never even had in my account (it went straight from being dispursed to paying off my bill in the registrar). 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
Carl
Level 15

Grad Student: Tuition Split between 2018 and 2019 1098-T. Box 2 not filled out last year, now return is being reduced by $1.6K

Box 2 not filled out last year,