turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I need to file taxes / can I if I had no income in 2019? (I'm currently a full-time PA student and am not allowed to work while I'm in school)

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DianeC958
Expert Alumni

Do I need to file taxes / can I if I had no income in 2019? (I'm currently a full-time PA student and am not allowed to work while I'm in school)

No, you do not need to file a tax return. 

If you have income that is less than the Standard Deduction for 2019 you are not required to file a return.  The amount of the Standard Deduction is based on your filing status,

The Standard Deduction for 2019 is

Single $12,200

Head of Household $18,350

Married Filing Joint $24,400

Married Filing Separate $12,200

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

4 Replies
DianeC958
Expert Alumni

No, you do not need to file a tax return. 

If you have income that is less than the Standard Deduction for 2019 you are not required to file a return.  The amount of the Standard Deduction is based on your filing status,

The Standard Deduction for 2019 is

Single $12,200

Head of Household $18,350

Married Filing Joint $24,400

Married Filing Separate $12,200

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Hal_Al
Level 15

You are not required to file a tax return.  If you have no income, there is usually no benefit in doing so.  There are  rare exceptions.