Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

American Opportunity Tax Credit Unclear

So, I graudated High School in 2017.

At community college: 

I took dual enrollment classes spring of 2016- 2 classes.

In Fall 2017 I took 5 classes.

Winter of 2017 I took 2 classes.

Spring of 2018 I took 5 classes.

Fall and Spring of i took 1 class for 1 unit (band) in a community college program.

I transfered to a university in fall 2019 and took classes all the way through Spring 2022 (Which i earned my degree).

I recieved cal grant all of the years, at jr college was covered under pell grants and had deferred calgrant. 

I have never claimed the American Opportunity credit and dont know what to do. Some people say I have been in college for more than 4 years while others say that with the time off and the random band courses dont count. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

You are eligible for AOC credit on your 2022 return. 

PattiF
Expert Alumni

Please see this from the IRS:

Who is an eligible student for AOTC?

To be eligible for AOTC, the student must:

• Be pursuing a degree or other recognized education credential
  • Be enrolled at least half time for at least one academic period* beginning in the tax year
  • Not have finished the first four years of higher education at the beginning of the tax year
  • Not have claimed the AOTC or the former Hope credit for more than four tax years
  • Not have a felony drug conviction at the end of the tax year