Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

529 Withdrawal with Tuition Remission

Hi,

I am a new graduate student.  My university covers my tuition via tuition remission, and it does not show up on my 1098-T.  Am I allowed to still withdraw 529 funds without the 10% penalty (but is reported as taxable income) against the remitted tuition?  As an undergraduate with a full scholarship (which was reported on the 1098-T), I could do this; but I am not clear if it is possible to due with tuition remission.  Thanks.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q.  Am I allowed to still withdraw 529 funds without the 10% penalty?

A. Yes, claim the "scholarship" exception in TurboTax.  Technically, it's a "tax free assistance" exception. 

After entering the 1098-T, you will be asked if you had any scholarships not reported on the 1098-T.  Enter the tuition remission amount. 

If you have any problem getting TT to do that, reply back for a short cut.  It should generate form 5329 with $0 on lines 7 & 8, to claim the exception (you'll see a worksheet in TT, that is nor sent to the IRS)

@Hal_Al:  Thanks for the reply.  One of my issues is that the 1098-T does not show the tuition costs.  When I add the additional scholarship money, TT is counting this as income and taxing at ordinary income rates.  Where would I add the tuition costs which can then offset the "additional" scholarship?  Thanks.

MarilynG1
Expert Alumni

In the Education section, EDIT yourself as the Student, then EDIT your School.

Under the 1098-T entry for Box 1, Tuition, check the box that says 'What if this is not the amount paid to the school'.