turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why do I need to upgrade to deluxe? I don't believe we need to file Supplemental Income and Loss (Schedule E) based on the information provided.

 
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
CrystalS2
New Member

Why do I need to upgrade to deluxe? I don't believe we need to file Supplemental Income and Loss (Schedule E) based on the information provided.

You must had something in your return that needs to go on the full 1040 to cause the Upgrade. The Free Edition only does the 1040EZ and 1040A for simple returns and not the full 1040. Do know it is not mandatory to upgrade, but to take advantage of the full features and benefits of maximizing your deductions and credits you may want to upgrade.

To Downgrade and go back to the Free Edition you must Clear & Start Over :

  1. In TurboTax Online, select My Account, then click on Clear & start over.
  2. On the Are you sure you want to clear your return? pop up screen, if you are sure about clearing all your entries and starting over, click Yes.
    Then a new screen confirms you have cleared your entries, click Continue.
  3. A Help us find the right TurboTax product for you screen shows the TurboTax Online products and features.
  4. Select your new TurboTax Online product by clicking the Start for Free button.
Hope this information is Helpful

View solution in original post

1 Reply
CrystalS2
New Member

Why do I need to upgrade to deluxe? I don't believe we need to file Supplemental Income and Loss (Schedule E) based on the information provided.

You must had something in your return that needs to go on the full 1040 to cause the Upgrade. The Free Edition only does the 1040EZ and 1040A for simple returns and not the full 1040. Do know it is not mandatory to upgrade, but to take advantage of the full features and benefits of maximizing your deductions and credits you may want to upgrade.

To Downgrade and go back to the Free Edition you must Clear & Start Over :

  1. In TurboTax Online, select My Account, then click on Clear & start over.
  2. On the Are you sure you want to clear your return? pop up screen, if you are sure about clearing all your entries and starting over, click Yes.
    Then a new screen confirms you have cleared your entries, click Continue.
  3. A Help us find the right TurboTax product for you screen shows the TurboTax Online products and features.
  4. Select your new TurboTax Online product by clicking the Start for Free button.
Hope this information is Helpful
message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.

Post your Question
Manage cookies