Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

zaclanger

Which option for clergy self-employment tax?

I'm a pastor serving a local church, and I have a salary and housing allowance. My wife and I did the calculations at the start of last year to determine how much my social-security, medicare, and federal income taxes would be and voluntarily withheld them on her W4. My question is, which option should I choose on the question, "How would you like us to calculate your clergy self-employment tax?"

1. Pay self-employment tax on wages only

2. Social Security and Medicare taxes have been withheld

3. Pay self-employment tax on housing allowance only

4. Pay self-employment tax on wages and housing allowance

5. This income is exempt from self-employment tax

I would guess that option two is correct, since we have already done the voluntary withholding, but I'm not sure. I appreciate the help!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
DawnC
Expert Alumni

Which option for clergy self-employment tax?

Withholding on her W-4 won't affect how your earnings are taxed.   How did you get paid for your services, W-2, 1099, or both?   If you received a W-2, is there anything withheld in Boxes 4 and 6?  And finally, was your housing allowance included in Box 1?  

Clergy Taxation Discussion  -  Here is a discussion that should help! 

Members of the clergy (ministers, members of a religious order, and Christian Science practitioners and readers) and religious workers (church employees) must pay self-employment tax (SE tax).   The following income is included in the SE tax calculation on Schedule SE:

• Salaries and fees for your ministerial services