Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tracking COVID caused business expense for next year

Thankfully I filed for this year right before lockdown started. I have questions to help me track some unusual expenses for next year. 

My business is an S-corp. My home is my office. I am a trainer who is usually a road warrior. I was on the road so much that I did not have internet in my home. Using my phone as a hotspot was enough. The current situation has driven all my training online. Because of that I had to buy some equipment (e.g. cable modem and Ethernet to USB connector for my system) additionally I now have a monthly internet bill. I feel OK deducting the equipment as a normal office expense. What about the internet bill? I would not have that without a business need. Can I deduct it as a business expense? If so, what box does it go in?  Thanks for the advice.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

8 Replies

I highly recommend you  get local professional help to be educated on the filing requirement and rules for an S-corp ... from  the question you posted it  seems to indicate you have already made a few costly errors ...

Just to name a few : 

1) you must file the corp return BEFORE the personal return ... now it will need to be amended

2) you did not pay yourself and issue yourself a W-2

3) the corp return was due 3/15/2020 ... so now it is late and the penalties are piling up unless you put it on extension.  

4) you have a Home office and a vehicle ... neither of which the corp owns ... this requires some extra bookkeeping to address

Wow you read an awful lot into my question about a new expense, none of which is accurate.  Thanks for your input.