Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

pike5131

Started an AirBnb business how do i file the partnership return correctly/married

Hello all, I have been doing my taxes on turbo tax for 20+ years,  we started a Airbnb business this year and I am a bit lost.  My wife and I have a partnership 50/50 on our LLC and our management company issues a 1099-MISC. 

Question 1 - TurboTax stated I need to file a Schedule C for my wife and I and split Incom and expenses....which is fine i can do that but its a headache revise everything but I assume that's necessary...right?

Question 2 - We only have 1 1099-MISC from the management company so do I enter this twice and split the number between both of us?  Will that cause and issue with the IRS when the 1099 does not match since i split it?

Question 3 - How do i handle deprecation assets...example we put in a new AC $5000 do I put $2500 under her and $2500 under mine?

Question 4 - The house itself assume the value is  $400k so i now split this asset $200k her and 200k me and split land cost also etc...

Thanks for your help I enjoy learning and doing this myself vs paying someone to do it.

how d

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
RobertB4444
Expert Alumni

Started an AirBnb business how do i file the partnership return correctly/married

First, you should have filed a 1065 partnership return this year.  That would pass the income through to you at a lower tax rate.  Unfortunately, that return was due on March 15th and if you file it now you'll owe at least $440 as late fees and another $440 for every month (or part of a month) that it arrives late.