Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Sole Proprietor Versus S Corp Calculation

Now that tax season is largely over, I've been thinking over my taxes and have just a general question I was hoping people could help weigh in on.

I am a professional and a couple of years ago started my own practice.  To keep things simple I started out as a sole proprietor.  I did some research into S corps at the time and when I looked into my actual situation, it just looked like too much of an expense and hassle to start it as an S-corp.  I currently have no issues filing my own taxes etc.  I split our business with my wife as a qualified joint venture and simply file 2 schedule Cs on our tax return in order to take advantage of a defined benefit plan / pension for the both of us.

However, our annual revenue is now around 1.5 million and it looks like that will be fairly stable.  Based on several calculators, it seems like I would save a significant amount in medicare / payroll taxes if I made the switch to an S-corp though I just don't see how.  When I add in the expense of lawyers, accountants, as well as the fact that I would have to pay myself at least 500k a year as a reasonable salary and would I now have to continue to pay my wife, as well as continue to max out the pension plan, would I really be saving enough in taxes to make such a switch?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Carl
Level 15