Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

In-Kind Donation Question

Help me understand how an In-Kind donation works.  Let’s assume I am an architect and my church wants to hire me to design a new building.  I tell them my fee is $10,000, but I will wave the fee for them.  Is the $10,000 that I waived an In-Kind contribution?  If so, I would I claim it against the business or as a personal itemized deduction?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

The example you gave is not a tax deductible donation, either business or personal. You can never deduct the value of your time. The term "in-kind donation" might be a little vague and misleading. What the IRS says you can deduct is donations of "property," which then becomes a possession of the organization.

In your example, the only thing you can deduct is direct expenses that you incur in performing services for the church, such as the cost of paper or other materials that you use in designing the building.

I don't mean to be argumentative, but based on information I have received from other sources I think you are mistaken.  Here is an example.  Hopefully links are allowed.

https://charitableallies.org/in-kind-donations/#:~:text=Generally%2C%20a%20donor%20may%20deduct,doll....

From another source:

How do In-Kind Donations of Services Differ from Volunteering?

Generally, an in-kind donation of a service needs to be performed by a professional with a specialized skill in the service. For example, legal services, accounting services, or web design would all count as in-kind donations of services. However, a person collecting tickets at an event or performing any unskilled labor would count as volunteering.