turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

doc20x
Returning Member

Deductions by use of 2nd home in another state for business lodging

I have a pretty solid grasp on my taxes and have done ok filing via TurboTax the last few years. This year though I will have a new twist that I am uncertain about. I am a family practice doctor but my work is 100% remote/telecommute. I get a W-2 for my “day job” and several 1099-NEC’s for side gig independent contractor work. These 1099 jobs bring in almost half of my income. I make quarterly estimated tax payments. The twist is that my tax home/domicile is in Florida but I now have a condo in Ohio as well. So I plan to spend 180 days/year working at the condo in Ohio and the other times at the designated home office in my home in Florida. Florida has no state income while Ohio does. None my work companies are based in Ohio.