Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I deduct 960 miles driven from home to motel & back for a 2 week work assignment?

Hello,

Can I deduct 960 miles driven from my home to a motel & back for a 2 week work assignment (on Schedule C Line 9 under "Car and Truck Expenses") ?

I am just double-checking. I think the answer is "Yes." As an independent contractor, I drove from my home in my own car to a work assignment that lasted two weeks. The assignment was in a town 960 miles from my house. The company I was working for payed for lodging in an extended stay motel in the town.  I also used my own car to drive to different sites in the town where I was working and kept a record of that mileage. The company reimbursed me for mileage, but only 18 cents per mile. Under the last Federal guidelines for the last 6 months of 2022, the rate is 62.5 cents per mile, a difference of 44.5 cents per mile. I have records of the 960 miles out and back and also of the driving while in the town I worked.

In looking at IRS "Topic No. 511 Business Travel Expenses" (Last Reviewed or Updated: 06-Oct-2022) says: "Deductible travel expenses while away from home include, but aren't limited to, the costs of:
1. Travel by airplane, train, bus or car between your home and your business destination."

So I think I can deduct, as a Business Expense, the 960 miles x 62.5 cents ($600) from the Gross Income for the 2 weeks worth of work  (in Line 7 of Schedule C), correct? (My "Gross Income" includes the amount the company already reimbursed paid me for mileage at 18 cents per mile.)

Thank you.

Mel

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies