turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099 NEC's and nonresident tax returns

I am a full time AZ resident. I have W-2 income from NYS as I finished a full time remote position there in early 2023. I am filing a nonresident NYS tax return in which that is included.  I also have an AZ-based consulting business for which I received a 1099 NEC (over $15,000) from a (different) NY-based client (all remote consulting services).  It constituted under 30% of my overall single member LLC business income. Do I include the 1099 NEC as NYS income on my NYS nonresident tax return, (based on % of overall consulting income), and pay NY taxes on it? 

I also have a 1099 NEC from WI for over $17,000.  Do I have to file a WI nonresident tax return for that as well or just claim it on my AZ tax return? 

Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
DavidD66
Expert Alumni

You do not need to include the 1099-NEC income form New York on your non-resident NY tax return, unless you performed the work in New York.  Likewise for the 1099-NEC income from WI.  If you performed the work in WI, you must file a WI non-resident tax return and include it.  If the work was performed in AZ, you don't need to file a WI return.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you. That's very helpful.  Do I need to complete a Nonresident Business Allocation Schedule for the remote work I did in NY for which I received a W-2?

DianeW777
Expert Alumni