Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

tamk236

What is my next step? I have filed my 2022 return. I did get accepted but never processed/returned. Got W2C with change of SSN from employer. How to amend?

I am a student from Germany, so I don't know much about US taxes. I was an Intern in 2022 in the United States. I had problems receiving my SSN and bc of that my employer did not provide the correct info to the IRS. Instead of getting paid my due refund, I received a fine. I now got a W2C from my employer with no changes, except the SSN.
I can not contact support because I do not have a US number or adress.
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

What is my next step? I have filed my 2022 return. I did get accepted but never processed/returned. Got W2C with change of SSN from employer. How to amend?

@tamk236 , I am not sure I fully understand the situation.

1.  The return that you filed and got accepted for processing  was  with your correct SSN ?   What about your W-2 ?

2.   When did you file the return ?   What do you mean by  "fine" -- interest charges  and/or penalty   -- if you were owed then there is usually no interest but may be penalty for  failure to file.

3. When did you enter the country and with what visa ?  Was this your first entry ?How long did you stay in the country ?    I am trying to understand if you should file a 1040-NR or form 1040.

I may have  other questions based on your answer .  Please  answer  so I can help.

Grusse

pk

tamk236

Hi @pk, thanks for the reply!

Sorry, the whole thing is a bit messy.

1. Yes, on my return I had my correct SSN. On the W-2 it says applied for.
2. I filed in February 2023.