Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Kt34

Turbo Tax had me overpay by $300, how do I get it back?

I filed in 2018 with turbo tax, and it stated that I had violated the maximum deposit to my ROTH IRA in that year, and needed to pay a fine of $300 to the government. I didn't question this until recently when I talked to both the IRS and the bank with which I opened my ROTH IRA to find that there was no violation. I want to get my $300 back. I submitted a request to download the turbotax software to make an amendment, and it never arrived (digitally via email, I'm assuming) following the two week wait period. What do I do? I'm a student, and this money makes a big difference in my livelihood. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply

Turbo Tax had me overpay by $300, how do I get it back?

@Kt34 wrote:

I filed in 2018 with turbo tax, and it stated that I had violated the maximum deposit to my ROTH IRA in that year, and needed to pay a fine of $300 to the government. I didn't question this until recently when I talked to both the IRS and the bank with which I opened my ROTH IRA to find that there was no violation. I want to get my $300 back. I submitted a request to download the turbotax software to make an amendment, and it never arrived (digitally via email, I'm assuming) following the two week wait period. What do I do? I'm a student, and this money makes a big difference in my livelihood.