Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

37laurel
Returning Member

Sale of rural property

I used Turbotax Premier to do my 2022 taxes. I am a Georgia resident and sold rural property in Texas this past year. I did not receive a 1099S form for the sale. The software, I believe, told me I didn't have to report the sale on my Federal income tax filing. Also, since Texas has no state income tax, I did not have to list the state (Texas) on the Federal form. Instructions said to leave the box blank if the sale occurred in any of the nine states that do not have a state income tax. But the software would not allow me to proceed unless I typed in "Texas" in the box on the form. I interpreted this to mean that the software would report the income on my Georgia state tax return so the income from the sale of the rural property would be handled by Georgia tax regulations. States handle the matter differently. However, I didn't see where the income was reported on my Georgia tax return unless Georgia does not tax a portion of the sale of the property. Is this correct or did I I do something wrong? I have already filed both Federal and State returns.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Sale of rural property