Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

chay
Level 1

International Student - Additional Tax Refund 2020

I hope you are safe from Covid-19.
I am an international student, a recent graduate student completing a master's degree at an US university in December  2019. After finishing my degree, I went back to my home located in another country in February 2020.

Before moving back to my home, I went to the Human Resource office at my university to complete my tax submission (I had worked as a TA for Fall 2019). In the process of preparing my tax application, the Human Resource office told me that I needed to submit my tax application like an American because I had lived in USA for more than 10 yearsTherefore, I followed the instruction. I changed my mailing address to my home address. Consequently, I got all the necessary documents. As a result, I used Turbo Tax to submit my tax applications, and the website told me that I succeeded to submit all the necessary information. After completing the submission, I received the first tax refund. 

I though that the first tax refund was all the tax refund I would get. However, I have checked my US-bank account today, and it showed that I got an additional tax refund. I think it is a tax refund for Covid-19 (I think it is about CAREs ACT) but, as an international student, I want to know whether I can use the second tax refund or should return to the government because I am no longer an employee at my university for Spring 2020. Please help me find a way to deal with this problem. If I should return it to the government, please help me find a way to return it to the government. If I can use it, should I worry about returning some of the amount later this year?

Thank you so much for your help.

Sincerely,

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?