Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

SES89

I'm a full-time grad student who is 25 years old. Will I get a stimulus check?

On my 2018 tax return my dad checked the box saying that I could be claimed as a dependent. He was going to claim me but it turned out he couldn't because I made too much and I was too old. I realized this disqualified me from receiving the stimulus check so I knew I had to file my 2019 taxes asap.

I ended up filing my 2019 taxes about a week ago. While I have been enrolled in pharmacy school since August 2019 I worked full-time from January 2019 up until I started school. I currently still work, but much less. I made sure that I did not put that I could be claimed as a dependent, but I put that my occupation was a Student since for the last 5 months of 2019 that was my primary focus.

I'm not sure if putting my occupation as 'Student' will disqualifying me from receiving a check or how long it may take since my 2018 tax return disqualified me, but now that I filed my 2019 I should qualify. Any help/insight would be greatly appreciated!!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

I'm a full-time grad student who is 25 years old. Will I get a stimulus check?

Putting 'student' as your occupation should not affect your qualification for receiving a stimulus payment.  As long as the box is not checked on your return stating that you can be claimed as a dependent and you are not actually claimed on another return, you should receive a stimulus payment.  

After your tax return has been processed, you can start to check the status of your stimulus payment.  Click the following link:  Get My Payment

@SES89