Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

leonwyang

I am an international student at US for only 2 years. I e-filed my tax returns using TurboTax, which I think by default file me as a resident. How should I amend that?

I think I should file as non-resident using Sprintax. But I have already e-filed and been accepted.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

I am an international student at US for only 2 years. I e-filed my tax returns using TurboTax, which I think by default file me as a resident. How should I amend that?

Since you are a nonresident for tax purposes, you will be able to prepare the amended return you need through our partner service, Sprintax.  Please click this link to visit their website:  Visit the TurboTax/Sprintax site

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
leonwyang

Thanks for answering! The problem is that I have already e-filed and looking at the website I did not see the option to amend my 2018 tax return(there were one for 2017 and prior years)
leonwyang

Should I first amend through TurboTax? How should I connect the two accounts from both TurboTax and Sprintax?
DanielV01
Expert Alumni

The amend is done by preparing Form 1040NR, and attaching a blank form 1040X to it.  Sprintax will help you with the whole procedure.
**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
leonwyang