turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

abbetto
Returning Member

Graduate International student tax

I am an international graduate student at SDSU and have been in the USA since 2017. I currently work for the university and usually the school helps us filing our taxes. This year due to COVID the school couldn’t help me and I had to do them on my own. I followed a friend’s advice and filed them using TurboTax. However, I just learnt it is unclear whether I can use TurboTax or not. In fact, on the international student website (https://www.internationalstudent.com/tax/faqs/) it is specified that if you are a scholar (I'm a master's student working as a research & teaching assistant), after two years you are no longer considered an "exempt individual" for the Substantial Presence Test. On the IRS website this distinction is not clear. I already filed my taxes and had my tax return. What should I do to assess this situation?

Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Reply
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

Graduate International student tax

In your case, as a graduate student with a teaching role (a "scholar") you become a tax resident, who would be eligible to file using TurboTax on January 1st of the third calendar year that you are in the United States if your Visa is a J-1 Q-1, or Q-2.  

The IRS addresses this topic a number of different places, so it does get rather confusing.  I found this reference here: Foreign Student Tax Liability