Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Employer Held Taxes Against State/Federal Tax Code - Motor Carrier Employees

Hello,

So I've been having an issue with an employer(previous now) with my taxes.
The company was based in Utah, but I am a resident of Texas.
It is a motor carrier company. I was one of their drivers.
The company per their CPA was withholding Utah taxes from my paycheck.
This happened for tax year 2021, and 2022.
I was told to simply mark myself as a non-resident and I would get the Utah taxes back.
So far I have not received anything back.

A couple of our other non-resident employees had this same issue.
Now the kicker is Texas does not have a state income tax.
So I should have received all taxes paid to Utah back in full due to the motor carrier employee taxes found in:

Utah Admin. Code R865-9I-14 - Requirement of Withholding Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 59-10-401, 59-10-402, and 59-10-403
Section D which states "Income tax treatment of rail carrier and motor carrier employees is governed by 49 U.S.C. Section 14503."

49 U.S.C. Section 14503 states: