Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Amend Kansas tax credit on income earned in Missouri

I am a resident of Kansas who works in Missouri. I noticed that this year, (for my 2019 taxes), TurboTax allows me to credit taxes paid to MS on my KS return, (on line 13 of the Kansas K-40 form). This credit makes a big difference on my KS taxes and it looks like it was not an option in TurboTax for 2018, although line 13 is present on the 2018 K-40 form. Can I amend my 2018 KS taxes to claim this credit? Is it possible to do this in TurboTax 2018? Can I also claim this credit in previous tax years? If so, how far back can I go?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
JohnB5677
Expert Alumni

Yes we can help you amend your returns, and yes you can get the credit.

The IRS will accept an amended return up to 3 years after the date you filed the original return.   If you filed before the April deadline, the IRS considers the April deadline to be the filing date. You can do 2016 by April 15th, 2017 & 2018 

This link will give you guidance on how to start to amend your return.  Amend 2016 -2019

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

3 Replies
JohnB5677
Expert Alumni

Yes we can help you amend your returns, and yes you can get the credit.

The IRS will accept an amended return up to 3 years after the date you filed the original return.   If you filed before the April deadline, the IRS considers the April deadline to be the filing date. You can do 2016 by April 15th, 2017 & 2018