Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Amend Already Accepted Tax Return with Form 1098-T?

Dear Intuit Customer Service,

I am reaching out regarding an interesting situation I have ended up in. I completed filing my taxes a month ago and all of my forms (federal and state) were approved. I received the entire refund as well.

Today, I received Form 1098-T in the mail from my school. The amount in the tuition paid box (Box 1) does not exceed the amount in the scholarships/grants box (Box 5) on the form. On my tax forms from a month ago, I did not claim any student credits since in 2023, I was an international student; more specifically, a resident alien. It is important to know that I am not a dependent.

Could you please tell me if I should amend my taxes and refile them?

Thank you for the help in advance and I am looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

You said the tuition in box 1 of your 1098-T is not more than the scholarship in box 5, but you didn't say whether box 1 is same as box 5 or less than box 5. If the amounts in box 1 and box 5 are the same, there is no need to amend your tax return. If box 1 is less than box 5, the amount by which the scholarship exceeds the tuition is taxable income, so you have to amend your tax return.

You do not "refile" your tax return. Amending means filing a special form, Form 1040-X, to make changes to a tax return that you already filed. See the following FAQ for instructions to amend a tax return that you filed with TurboTax. (It says "prior year" but it also works for the current year.)

How do I amend my federal tax return for a prior year?