Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Forced to purchase the Deluxe Edition For Simple Tax Return

I've been filing for free with Turbo Tax for the last 5 years. This year, right as I'm about to submit my taxes, a screen pops up saying something about a 1040 & that the free edition doesn't cover that. Now in order to file my taxes I have to pay $59.99 for the Deluxe Edition. After completely starting over to see if it's a mistake, nope. 1040 filing isn't included with the free edition... Reluctantly, I agree & as I'm finalizing, they not only charged me 60 bucks for the Deluxe Edition on my federal taxes, they also threw on another $39.99 for the state. On top of that, they charged me a $39.99 fee to e-file...

If they are going to use the ambush technique to make money off me like that, I will be using & filing with another service next year. I had a very simple tax return & they basically blackmailed me for $140 to do it for "Free".

Unacceptable. You guys lost my business. I hope the $140 was worth it.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

If I have 1 W-2 and that is all, the return is 'simple' whether there is $10,000 or $150,000 in the W-2, right? 

1040 has to be included with the free edition because there is no longer a choice as there was in prior years. (no 1040a) 

here are the requirements for 'free' 

To qualify for free 2018 federal and state tax returns through the TurboTax Free File program, you just need to meet one of these requirements:

• Your 2018 household AGI is $34,000 or less;
  • You qualify for the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC); or