turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ering31

1099-misc, box 7: sporadic income?

I am very confused about whether or not to report non-employee compensation (box 7) from two 1099-misc that I received as "other income" or to pay self-employment taxes.

The back-story: I am a veterinarian. Last year, I was contacted by a friend that needed someone to cover a few days at their clinic while they went out of town. I obliged. Later in the year, I was contacted by an acquaintance at another clinic with a similar situation. Again, I filled in a couple of shifts. I was compensated for my time and I received two 1099-misc with non-employee compensation with a total amount of $4750.

The issue: I do not consider myself to be self-employed. I did not advertise or seek out this work. I have since left private practice and am in another field of veterinary medicine and I will not be doing this kind of work again in the future. It was limited to two times.

Do I need to pay SE tax on this income? I am confused because although it falls into my line of work, it seems more like sporadic activity to me.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
PaulaM
Expert Alumni

Unfortunately, this income is directly related to your line of work/profession and is appropriately included in your self-employment earnings. It does not matter that you do not intend to repeat the service. The IRS will regard this freelance or a side gig monies and expect to see it on a schedule C. Do take any allowable expense deductions to reduce the net income amount subject to the self-employment tax.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post