Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Starting business with large inventory - Help with Schedule C Part III

I have been collecting for 30 years and have many boxes of inventory (about $10,000). I am older and decided to start selling my inventory on Ebay and Etsy this past year to supplement my income. Trying to do the Schedule C part 3, but as a new business turbotax doesn’t let you put a starting inventory. So when I put an ending inventory the COG just comes out to 0 when I know my cost of the goods I sold this year was $2,245. How do I account for all my starting inventory?  Called intuit support but they didn’t know. Help

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
AliciaP1
Expert Alumni

So, your ending inventory is $10,000 and you didn't sell anything?  If so, your COG is correct at $0.  If you sold any items your inventory value went down and needs to be adjusted.

@Biographics162 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

View solution in original post

PatriciaV
Expert Alumni

You have entered the amount on Line 36b as a positive number. Enter this as a negative so the number on line 40 is a positive number. After deducting ending inventory, this should result in the correct COGS.

View solution in original post

13 Replies
MarilynG1
Expert Alumni

If you're using TurboTax Desktop, go to FORMS at the upper left when you are at the 'Enter Ending Inventory' page in the interview.  You will be on a 'Schedule C Worksheet' where you can type in the amount of your 'Beginning Inventory'.

@Biographics162