Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self-Employment Questions

Hello!

I just started working part-time as a consultant for a school institution, and I have several questions about self-employment taxes. A lot of this is new to me, so thank you in advance for your patience!

My contract states that I am an independent contractor and not an employee of the school, so I assume I will get a 1099 at the end of the year. 

My questions are:

1. Do I still need to pay taxes quarterly if this is just a part-time job?

2. If so, how/where do I do that, and when am I supposed to begin paying?

3. How should the institution that hired me handle reimbursements? If reimbursements are included in my monthly stipend, it will look like I generated that much in income and will be taxed accordingly; however, is that where deductions come in? Can I deduct those expenses when I file my taxes, even though I was reimbursed? 

4. If I can't deduct what I was reimbursed for, is it more cost effective to not get reimbursed and just save those items to be used as deductions on my tax return?

5. Can I claim/deduct money spent on food and (non-alcoholic) drink while traveling for work?

6. Finally, moving forward, if I continue in the work of consultation services, is there a "best" way to do it (ex. independent contractor, create a business, or request to be hired as an employee so I can get a W-2, etc.)?

THANK YOU!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MelanieCPA
Employee Tax Expert

Hi @Gardenia1 

Great questions!  Let me try and provide some insight.