turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

W2 or 1099 vs solo 401k and QBI

I’m an independent contractor.   I just changed the supplier that I go through, ( I work for a larger corporation but have to go through a supplier) and the supplier has a 401(k), but I don’t want to use it - I want to just do my own solo 401(k). And I want to continue to QBI 20% income reduction.

I can go through this supplier either as a 1099 or W-2 Contractor.   Are there tax consequences I need to consider related to solo 401k and QBI decision between the two?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

There is no such thing as "W2 contractor."

W2 = Employee

1099-Misc = Independent Contractor and you are running your own business

You can never use another entity's retirement plan if you are not their employee. You seem to be a Subcontractor, contracting through that supplier to the main party having the work done. As their Employee, you would be working for them, and they still are the party contracting to the larger corporation.

QBI has to do with specific expense allowance when you are running your own business. This is not applicable to the employee relationship. As an employee, you would not have expenses against the income; you get Payroll Wages as the income.

Retirement planning can be post-tax funds or pre-tax funds. There can be your own funds, your employer funds, or your own company acts as your "employer" for purposes of funding retirement.

That means there are something like a dozen permutations for what is permitted, and that is something to get personal and direct one-on-one guidance regarding.