Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

new LLC

Hello

I have been working as an independent contractor for a few years now. I had a business set up, however, it was just this year (in 2023) that I turned it into an LLC. I was previously filing one tax return, but I would like to for this year file one for the business and a separate one for myself as a 1099 contractor working for the LLC. I have no other employees (other than myself).

1. My understanding is that I have the option to still file only one tax return (for myself and the business together) since I am the only owner of the business. Is that correct? 

2. If I choose to file a separate personal and then one for the business, do I pay double taxes? 

Note I live in GA and the business operates from  GA. It is a consulting business. 

Thank you

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
conniem123
Employee Tax Expert

new LLC

Hi bethlauren04,

Thank you for your questions today.

I understand that in previous years you filed a Schedule C for your self-employed business.  Now in 2023 you have established a LLC. 

1.  A single member LLC is the same as being self-employed, and file the Schedule C.  If you are a single member LLC you will continue to report your business income and business expenses on a Schedule C, as part of your individual income tax return.